Congratulations to 2009 Festival Award Winners!

Category: Hamptons Film Festival , Only In The Hamptons
Felix van Groeningen accepts his third award at Guild Hall for his film, The Misfortunates.

Felix van Groeningen accepts his third award at Guild Hall for his film, “The Misfortunates.”

The films and the talent presented at this year's festival were nothing short of inspiring so, we'd like to take this opportunity to extend our thanks to Hamptons Film Festival Executive Director Karen Arikian, Director of Programming David Nugent, and Chairman Stuart Suna, as well as Lina Plath and Clare Anne Darragh of Frank PR, for making this year's festival such a resounding success.

It truly takes a village to pull off a five-day event like the Hamptons International Film Festival and we'd be remiss if we didn't recognize and thank the countless organizers, sponsors, board members, local businesses and volunteers who made this year's festival possible. From the local residents who welcomed visitors from around the globe, to the friendly officers who helped herds of movies goers cross the street, it was a community effort that was spotlighted on an international stage. Everyone involved should be proud of the way the Hamptons were presented.

As we prepare our huge HIFF Photo Gallery and write-ups, we hope you'll take note of all of this year's award winners and participants. We'd also like to give a special congratulations to Felix van Groeningen (pictured above) whose film “The Misfortunates” won not one but three awards, including the Golden Starfish Award for Best Narrative Feature.

All of this year's film makers and actors deserve a standing ovation!

Golden Starfish Award for Best Narrative Feature:
“The Misfortunates,” directed by Felix van Groeningen

Special Jury Award for Outstanding Achievement by an Actor:
“Paprika Steen,” in Applause

Golden Starfish Award for Best Documentary:
“Long Distance Love,” directed by Magnus Gertten and Elin Jonsson

Special Jury Award
“Mugabe and the White African,” Lucy Bailey & Andrew Thompson

Golden Starfish Award for Best Short:
“Dust Kid,” directed by Jung Yumi

Best Film of Conflict & Resolution:
“Rabbit a la Berlin,” directed by Bartek Konopka

Audience Award for Best Narrative Film:
“The Young Victoria,” directed by Jean-Marc Vallee

Audience Award for Best Documentary:
“Waking Sleeping Beauty,” directed by Don Hahn

Audience Award for Best Short:
“This is Her,” directed by Katie Wolfe

Zicherman Foundation Award for Best Screenplay:
Felix van Groeningen for “The Misfortunates”

Kodak Award for Best Cinematography:
Ruben Impens for “The Misfortunates”

Kanbar Indie Award:
Antonio Campos for “My Adventures in Ladies’ Undergarments”

Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Prize:
“Agora,” directed by Alejandro Amenabar

Roc Skincare Gold Standard in Filmmaking Award for a Feature Female Director:
Cheryl Hines for “Serious Moonlight”

Wouter Barendrecht Award for Pioneering Vision
“Big River Man,” John Maringouin


No comments yet

Add comment

This item is closed, it's not possible to add new comments to it or to vote on it


Flash Here